top of page

FOLLOW ME:

Tunnisteita ei vielä ole.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

A kind of magic

Greetings from the grey north! It's been awfully dull for the past few days. We lost all snow, everyone seems to be sleep deprived and although I don't actually have lectures right now to go to, I am drowning in school work and barely holding up.

However, this current state of life does not concern tonight. As you may know, tonight was the premiere for Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them in Finland and so I decided to throw away my books and laptop for a night and headed to the local movie theater with quite a few of my friends, dressed in our house scarves and Hogwarts' robes and filled with such childlike excitement I at least have not experienced since I went to see Deathly Hallows part two.

I think quite a lot of people can relate to this. We have jobs, we go on with our duties, we pay rent and do groceries and wonder what the hell we'll end up doing for the rest of our lives. For so many of us life gets way too easily very regular, and in the end of the day we are too tired to even try to escape it. And then movies such as Fantastic Beasts comes and you get thrown in the middle of that world, the world of magic and wonder and adventures, and it is simply mind-blowing!

I don't know am I exaggerating. Anyhow, for me, this world- the world of Harry Potter- has been a place to escape to ever since I was a little girl. I've reread the whole Harry Potter saga dozen of times, and I've read it whenever I've felt extremely bad with life. It's a world that reminds me of so much simpler times, when my dreams were of course reachable, when I could be anything I ever wanted. I am not saying I've become endlessly pessimistic and gloomy with life, I still dream and I still dream big, but I guess you know what I mean.

But now that I've come to think of it, I can't really come up with any good reason why I shouldn't be as gloriously optimistic with life as I was when I first read the stories of Harry and fellas under my covers because it was way past my bedtime. I am feeling somewhat irritated with myself- why have I forgotten that aspect of my life? Why have I lost that open-eyed, ambitious attitude and replaced it with neutral, sensible doubtfulness? Some may say that it's just growing up, just coming to my senses, but why on earth would I accept that? If coming to my senses means settling down to mediocrity, I think I'll pass, thank you very much.

After seeing the movie, I do feel like I've woken up. I think I may need to visit the library and get myself a copy of Harry Potter once again- I think I need a little bit more shaking up and, I don't know, going out there to get my goal.

bottom of page